2010 Teachers of the Year

Teachers of the Year

Meet the 2010
Teachers of the Year

A one-time English-language learner, a former community activist and a ex-biotechnology researcher, now all teachers in the San Diego Unified School District, have been named Teachers of the Year for 2010.

Nancy Wooten, Emalyn Leppard and Ericka Senegar-Mitchell are elementary, middle and high school teachers with different backgrounds, classes and teaching methods, but they're all now Teachers of the Year.

The trio were be saluted at the Day of the Teacher Celebration Tuesday, May 4, at Montgomery Middle School. 140 school-site Teachers of the Year, the latest class of National Board Certified Teachers, and the Future Educator Scholars entering the teaching profession were also honored.

A Teacher of the Year is selected for each school level. Wooten is a first grade teacher at Zamorano Fine Arts Academy, Leppard a special-education teacher at Montgomery Middle School, and Senegar-Mitchell a biotechnology teacher at Serra High School.

"Teachers are the strength of our district and these three exemplify all that is best about innovation, caring and drive among our teachers," said Bill Kowba, Interim Superintendent.

Teachers are picked at each school; the district selection process is a joint effort between the San Diego Education Association and district administrators.

The event was catered by students in Culinary Arts programs at Garfield, Morse and Scripps Ranch high schools, with music by the Patrick Henry High School Jazz Ensemble.

San Diego Unified's Teachers of the Year and runners-up are eligible to apply for San Diego county Teacher of the Year, part of the process leading to the national Teacher of the Year. The county Teacher of the Year ceremony will be held this fall and is organized by the San Diego County Office of Education.

The Teachers
Nancy Wooten Nancy Wooten
Emalyn Leppard Emalyn Leppard
Ericka Senegar Mitchell Ericka Senegar-Mitchell
The Event
Event Program
Thanks To...

Primary Sponsor
Time Warner Cable

Additional Sponsors
The Standard

Blackboard Connect

Event Team

Pro Flowers

Mission Federal

California Coast