2014 Teachers of the Year

Teachers of the Year

Educators from Dingeman, Wilson, Crawford are SD Unified 'Teachers of the Year' 2014

Innovative educators from Dingeman Elementary, Wilson Middle and Crawford High schools are the San Diego Unified School District 2014 Teachers of the Year.

Sara  Khamphet Pease  Ken Herschman
Sara Church . Video
 Khamphet Pease . Video  Ken Herschman . Video

Sara Church, a third-grade teacher at Dingeman Elementary School in Scripps Ranch; Khamphet Pease, a technology teacher at Wilson Middle School in City Heights; and Ken Herschman, a math teacher at Crawford High, are the educators who were honored at the district¹s 2014 Day of the Teacher celebration.

"The dedication of all our teachers to teach, to engage, to inspire and tocare about our students amazes me," said Supt. Cindy Marten. "Our three Teachers of the Year exemplify the remarkable work being done every dayin classrooms across the district. I am proud to work with such committed individuals who have dedicated their professional lives to doing what's best for children."

In a message to all teachers, Board President Kevin Beiser, a math teacher in the Sweetwater High School District, saluted the district's educators.

"As a fellow teacher I want to personally wish you a happy Teacher Appreciation Week," he said. "Thank for all you do for our children and the community. I am grateful for the work you do every day. Thank you."

Runners up for this year's honors were Margarita Idos, grade one, Zamorano Fine Arts Academy; Dennis Gildehaus, grades 6 and 8, physical education, Pacific Beach Middle School; and Jaimee Rojas, grade 9, humanities, e3 Civic High. In addition to the winners and runners-up, Teachers of the Year from each school in the district are also scheduled to appear and be recognized by the Board of Education.

"Quality teaching is one of the 12 indicators of a quality school as defined in our Vision 2020 plan and our Teachers of the Year exemplify quality teaching in their classrooms, " said Marten. "I know from experience that teaching is not an easy job, but it is a job that has the highest rewards possible: influencing, impacting and changing lives. I am proud to work beside such talented and hard-working educators."

Sponsors of the event were the San Diego Padres Baseball Club, San Diego Gas and Electric Co., The Standard, California Schools VEBA, Mission Federal Credit Union,California Coast Credit Union, eLiveLife.com, San Diego Education Association, and ProFlowers.

Teacher of the Year candidates go through a rigorous selection process, first being selected by the staff members at their school, then a panel including former teachers of the year. San Diego Unified¹s Teachers of the Year and runners-up are eligible to apply for San Diego county Teacher of the Year, part of the process leading to the national Teacher of the Year. The county Teacher of the Year ceremony will be held this fall and is organized by the San Diego County Office of Education.

The Day of the Teacher celebration is a traditional event on the Board of Education calendar. All Board members and senior district staff are scheduled to attend. A pre-meeting reception was catered by students from culinary-arts classes in the College Career and Technical Education program. Music is provided by the Lewis Middle School Jazz Band.

Click here for a full list of Site Teachers of the Year.

Click here to see photos from the event.

2014 Teacher of the Year Runner-ups

Margarita Idos
Dennis Gildehaus
Jaimee Rojas

Margarita Idos
Zamorano ES

Dennis Gildehaus
PB Middle

Jaimee Rojas
e3Civic High/HTH

Event Sponsors
Diamond Sponsor
San Diego Padres
Gold Level Sponsors


The Standard
Veba logo
Silver Level Sponsors
Mission Federal logo

California Coast Credit Union logo


Sd Education Association
Bronze Level Sponsors
ProFlowers Logo
College, Career & Technical Education logo