2019 Teachers of the Year

Coinciding with National Teacher Appreciation Day, the district's Day of the Teacher event celebrates the thousands of teachers throughout the district that make a difference in the lives of students across San Diego every day.

This event honors YOU and all that you do for our students.

Day of the Teacher is a special event that brings together teachers, guests, district staff and leadership, and board members to honor the profession - and those that dedicate their lives to improving the future for our children and for society.

At the ceremony, all Site Teacher of the Year honorees, Teacher of the Year candidates and District Teacher of the Year winners and runners-up will be recognized, along with San Diego Education Fund Scholarship recipients.

This festive celebration recognizes the outstanding work of our teachers, and features entertainment from our San Diego Unified student musicians, and food prepared and served by students enrolled in our CCTE Culinary Arts programs.

New to this year's celebration is a "Wellness Hour" during the pre-ceremony reception that will focus on our commitment to teacher appreciation year-round through the various wellness initiatives offered to all employees district wide. Interactive wellness booths will offer teachers healthy living perks and prizes all aimed at showing our gratitude, and nurturing their health.

Please join us for this exciting event!

Day of the Teacher Ceremony

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

School of Creative and Performing Arts

5 p.m. - 7 p.m.

Teacher Appreciation Wellness Hour Reception

4:00 p.m. - 4:50 p.m.

In front of the Performing Arts Center. Interactive wellness booths, and light refreshments will be served.

Please RSVP (https://forms.gle/mbnyW71n7jAwaTXaA) by 5 p.m. on Friday, May 3.

2019 Site Teachers of the Year

Site Teacher of the Year School/Department
Hilda Martinez Zamorano Elementary
Roosevelt Johnson Mann Middle School
Jenny Lieu Lincoln High School